The Research Safety and Animal Welfare Administration (RSAWA) is a unit in the Office of Research Administration (ORA). The primary focus of RSAWA activities is to support UCLA research programs in their efforts to enhance and further improve the safety of workers and the environment, the physical security of research areas, and the welfare of laboratory animals. Under the leadership of Jennifer Klahn, RSAWA Director, and in partnership with the research community, the RSAWA team provides professional guidance and administrative support to the following faculty oversight committees:

ARC symbolic icon- a rat

Animal Research Committee (ARC)

The ARC is an independent research review committee mandated by the Animal Welfare Act and the PHS Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals (PHS Policy).

CPSC symbolic icon - lab tube

Chemical & Physical Safety Committee (CPSC)

The CPSC focuses on chemical and physical hazards in research laboratories and is mandated to develop, recommend, update and maintain policies and procedures applicable to chemical and physical health and safety practices at UCLA in order to promote safe research practices.

DURE symbolic icon - various viruses

Dual Use Review Entity (DURE)

The DURE is charged with oversight of, and education on, life sciences research involving the use of potential dual use research of concern (DURC) agents.

IBC symbolic icon - Biohazard symbol

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The IBC is responsible for establishing, monitoring, and enforcing policies and procedures involving hazardous biological materials and recombinant/synthetic nucleic acids to meet applicable federal, state, local and institutional regulations and guidelines.

OSOC symbolic icon - lab glass with group of people

Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research Safety Oversight Committee (OSOC)

The OSOC is charged with promoting a safe working environment in all research and teaching laboratories on campus and serves as a mechanism for communication between existing campus Safety Committees on topics of mutual safety concerns. The Committee advises and reports to the Chancellor through the Vice Chancellor for Research.

RSC symbolic icon - radiation symbol

Radiation Safety Committee (RSC)

The RSC is responsible for ensuring the safe use of radiation in the research, clinical, and academic setting at UCLA. The RSC has four subcommittees: the Academic Radiation Safety Committee (ARSC), the Clinical Operations Radiation Safety Committee (CORSC), the Medical Radiation Safety Committee (MRSC), and the Radioactive Drug Research Committee (RDRC).

Contact Us

CommitteeAdministrative Contact
Administrative Contact
ARCAnimal Research Committee (310)
CPSCChemical & Physical Safety Committee (310)
DUREDual Use Review Entity(310)
IBCInstitutional Biosafety Committee (310)
OSOCOffice of the Vice Chancellor for Research Safety Oversight Committee(310)
RSCRadiation Safety Committee(310)